The Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS ( Early Years Foundation Stage) is a statutory framework that sets standards for Provisions. It is in place to ensure all children learn and achieve there goals to the best of their potential.

The EYFS ( Early Years Foundation Stage ) also gives practitioners a guide to support them in maintaining the EYFS statutory requirements. The Development Matters is also used to ensure that children maintain their development. There is Four Guiding Principles in the Development Matters. These are ;

Unique Child

Positive Relationships

Enabling Environments

Learning and development.

There are Seven Areas of Learning outlined in the EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage). Children should mostly develop the 3 Prime areas first. These are;

Physical Development

Communication and language

Personal, Social and Emotional Development.


As children develop the prime areas it will help them to develop their skills in 4 specific areas. These are;



Understanding the world

Expressive arts and design.

These are all developed in your child’s planned activities to support you child’s unique needs.